Kaynijo.com

Live | Love | Laugh

Hear the Angels Sing

4 Comments

It was not so long ago – October 2011 to be exact – that I first turned up at the senior choir rehearsals at my church.  Those who know me may describe me as a dancer and would roll on the floor breaking out in hysterical tears of laughter at the mere thought of me singing.

Be that as it may, I went to the rehearsals not because I thought singing was (is) in any shape or form my calling.  I went owing to the fact that I had accepted an invitation a few weeks prior (and we know that some church people are rather persistent).  Moreover, I was duly informed that “…our choir director doesn’t audition dear.  He believes that everyone is blessed with a voice that should be used to sign praises to the Lord.”

So yes – armed with this information and with the intention of going to ‘hold up’ the base and tenor lines – I jumped in my car and made my way to choir practice that Thursday night.

It would have been way too simple and straight forward for me to just turn up and blend in on the base and tenor lines.  One major flaw in my original plan is that these singing parts are reserved for men and the last time I checked, I did (do) not meet this criterion.  In the true ‘diva’ spirit, I sat with the men and blended in – absolutely ignoring the puzzled looks that I may have been getting.

One chorister said to me: “Dear, why are you sitting around here with the men?  Do you sing alto or soprano?”

My response: “Well, I can’t sing, so where do those people sit?”

Of course, she thought I was joking.

Rehearsals began.  Unbeknownst to me and to the surprise of all the other choristers, that Thursday night in October 2011, the choir director decided to have an audition!

My initial thoughts (the PG version might I add): “I wonder how I can make my way out of this church without making it too obvious?”  After running through a few options in my mind, I resigned that none would work.  I concluded that only the Lord could help me – and that He did!

That night Princess Ellis had also invited Dannella Barnett to the rehearsals.

Dannella and Princess have been friends for a few years now.  In January 2012 the long time friends combined their talent and vocals to form the group Sisters in Harmony (Jamaica).

Now dem [those] girls can sang [sing]!  I could carry on about their talent, but why not listen for yourself.

Dannella and Princess both believe that music is an extremely powerful and spiritually uplifting instrument.

We aim to inspire others with our talents.  If even one person can be blessed through our music, then we have done a good work.

You may connect with Sisters in Harmony (Jamaica) through their Facebook page or through their YouTube channel.  Be blessed

–Kaynijo

Author: Kaynijo

Read more here: www.kaynijo.com Kaynijo.com - Live | Love | Laugh

4 thoughts on “Hear the Angels Sing

  1. I’m impressed, I have to say. Really not often do I encounter a blog that’s each educative and entertaining, and let me tell you, you have hit the nail on the head. Your thought is excellent; the issue is something that not sufficient persons are talking intelligently about. I’m very blissful that I stumbled across this in my seek for one thing referring to this.

  2. wow, nice article…keep sharing…

  3. i found this topic very interesting if you have more to teach us about this subject please post.

  4. My husband and i got contented John managed to round up his investigation via the precious recommendations he made through your weblog. It is now and again perplexing to just find yourself giving away tactics other folks could have been making money from. We fully understand we have got the writer to thank for that. Those illustrations you’ve made, the easy site navigation, the friendships you will help to foster – it’s got everything powerful, and it’s really making our son in addition to our family feel that this theme is brilliant, which is very vital. Thanks for all!

Leave a Reply

