Kaynijo.com

Live | Love | Laugh

The Story of Bob Green

3 Comments

No matter who we are, no matter how wealthy or not so wealthy, beat down, sadden, depressed or just out of it we are, one thing we ALL have in common is that we all MUST eat.

The person that I’m writing about may be no Butch Stewart, Warren Buffet, Donald Trump, or Bill Gates.  And no, he’s not the CEO of some multi-nation corporation –  he is Bob Green, the pan chicken man located at the top of Border Avenue in Havendale, Kingston Jamaica (right across from the Shell gas station).  

There’s one housekeeping matter I must first address before I launch into the story of Bobby.  For all my non-Jamaican audience, don’t despair – the term “pan chicken” means jerked chicken, and “jerk” is a style of cooking native to Jamaica.

Now for those who know me personally, know that I may be considered a particular eater.  Some have gone as far as accusing me of being fussy about my food.  Let me share with you the story of Bob Green, who up until Friday January 15, 2010 was only known to me as Bobby (j ch) – that’s how he was listed in my phone’s address book.  And yes I have a contact number for my pan chicken man!!!

My interaction with Bobby (j ch) goes as far back to 1997 – then I was just another customer who buys “a breast and wing, ketchup and pepper”. And note, the hard dough bread must be placed strategically in direct contact with the chicken and its condiments so that by the time I walked back to my house,  and opened the foil paper ready to devour, just the right amount of chicken, ketchup and pepper would be attached to the bread, just the way I like it.

It was Friday January 15, 2010, that a co-worker of mine approached me with a rather “strange question”.  He started to ask me about my jerk chicken man that I’m always carrying on about. (Me – carry on?!?! Of course not!  I don’t carry on – ever!!!!!)

It was on that Friday night, when I approached Bobby with the “strange question” that I started to get to know the person behind Bobby (j ch).

About Bob Green

Bob is the proud father of 3: Martin (son) aged 18, Kyodi (son) aged 13 and Kirria (daughter) aged 10.  Kyodi was one of the winners of the Scotiabank National Primary School HIV and AIDS Debating Competition.

Not only is Bob computer literate, but he is also a qualified level 1 football coach.  He has successfully completed level 1 Food Preparation and is currently pursuing level 2.  He told me that level 2 is geared towards HACCP (like I know what that meant; so I googled it).

Hazard Analysis and Critical Control Point (HACCP) is a systematic preventive approach to food safety and pharmaceutical safety that addresses physical, chemical, and biological hazards as a means of prevention rather than finished product inspection. HACCP is used in the food industry to identify potential food safety hazards, so that key actions, known as Critical Control Points (CCPs) can be taken to reduce or eliminate the risk of the hazards being realised.

Bob’s dream is to one day work in the hotel industry and to eventually own his own business.

—Kaynijo

Author: Kaynijo

Read more here: www.kaynijo.com Kaynijo.com - Live | Love | Laugh

3 thoughts on “The Story of Bob Green

  1. I loved “The Story of Bob Green”. It’s a true example of not ‘judging a book by it’s cover’.

    Reading this has inspired me; it has re-inforced that whatever you do in life, do it to the best of your ability:-
    *if you are going to be a teacher, be the best teacher you can be
    *if you are a neurosurgeon, aim to be the best darn doctor you can possibly be
    *if you are a street cleaner, be the best at it, give it your all

    Thank you for sharing and keep it up!

  2. Bobby chicken a di bes! EVERY Friday night i gotta have my breas’ qtr wit pepper and ketchup and 2 slice a bread! The weekend couldnt start without it!

  3. Kay,

    This story is deep and inspiring and teaches us time and time again to “Never judge a book by its cover” but to get to know the man/woman underneath.

Leave a Reply

